Natural Resources

Located: Skokomish Department of Natural Resources North 541 Tribal Center Road Skokomish Nation, WA 98584

Office Hours: Monday to Friday, 8 am. to 5 pm.

Phone: (360) 877-5213 Fax: (360) 877-5148 Hotline: (360) 877-5214


Summary of Services

The Natural Resources Department consists of two divisions: Habitat and Harvest.

The Skokomish Natural Resources Department Habitat Division is responsible for development and implementation of the Tribe’s water quality, environmental health, hazardous waste, habitat protection and enhancement programs for salmon-bearing streams and wetlands, among other as-needed and requested duties for the Tribal community. Oversight for the Tribe’s trust efforts in forestry, solid waste management, flood control and watershed planning is also provided. In addition, the Department is responsible for all Tribal, State, Federal and local compliance and regulatory ordinances and laws that are associated with land, air and water regulation.

The Skokomish Natural Resources Department Harvest Division provides administrative, management, research and enhancement services that support the Tribal government and Tribal members’ ability to exercise Treaty fishing and wildlife rights. Administrative services include budget development, staff oversight, Tribal representation in government fora, fisheries policy development, support of the Tribe’s Fish Committee and Tribal Council, as well as assessing the documentation of conservation activities. Management services include licensing fishers, buyers and boats, conducting shellfish population surveys, and monitoring harvests. Enhancement services include clam & oyster seed planting.

Office Hours: Monday to Friday, 8 am. to 5 pm. While assistance is assured during the official office hours, employees are typically available to help earlier than 8:00. As DNR is split into two buildings, if one building is locked, please seek assistance in the other building.

Vision

We, the Skokomish Tribe Natural Resources Department employees, envision the Skokomish tribal community having a thriving and healthy natural environment with abundant populations of fish, wildlife and other resources; this is in order to sustain the cultural and spiritual identity of the community in addition to providing economic stability for present and future generations.

Mission

By fulfilling the above vision, the staff members of the Skokomish Natural Resources Department aspire to protect the Skokomish treaty rights through effective management that will preserve and enhance the natural and cultural resources of the Tribe and will perpetuate the tribal fisheries resources for this and future generations.  We pledge to defend the treaty rights of the Skokomish people and the sovereignty of the Skokomish Nation with regard to all natural resource concerns and to improve environmental health within the Tribal community.

Staff

Position Staff Member Telephone/Extension E-Mail
Natural Resources Director Joseph Pavel 360-877-5213 x2206 jpavel@skokomish.org
Habitat Manager Alex Gouley 360-877-5213 x2207 agouley@skokomish.org
Deputy Director Jonathon Wolf 360-877-5213 x2212 jwolf@skokomish.org
Administrative Assistant Elena Miller 360-877-5213 x.2200 emiller@skokomish.org
EPA Coordinator Ron Figlar-Barnes 360-877-5213 x.2202 rbarnes@skokomish.org
EPA/Hydrology Technician Seth Book 360-877-5213 x2204 sbook@skokomish.org
Wildlife Management Biologist Bethany Tropp 360-877-5213 x.2209 btropp@skokomish.org
Environmental Planner Randy Lumper 360-877-5213 x2201 rlumper@skokomish.org
Technician Shane Miller 360-877-5213 x2209 smiller@skokomish.org
Habitat Biologist Lisa Belleveau 360-877-5213 x2205 lbelleveau@skokomish.org
Habitat Technician Jason Lewis 360-877-5213 x2203  jlewis@skokomish.org
Shellfish Management Biologist Chris Eardley 360-877-5213 x2210 ceardley@skokomish.org
Harvest Manager Cindy Gray 360-877-5213 x2215 cgray@skokomish.org
Hatchery Manager Laura Swaim 206-660-0583 lswaim@skokomish.org
Lead Hatchery Technician Richard Adams 360-877-5213 dadams@skokomish.org
Hatchery Technician Jennifer Adams 360-877-5213 dadams@skokomish.org
Lead Finfish Technician Anthony Battista 360-877-5213 x2213 abattista@skokomish.org
Finfish Technician Aaron Johnson 360-877-5213 ajohnson@skokomish.org
Salmon/Steelhead Program Restoration Manager Colin Duncan 360-877-5213 x2211 cduncan@skokomish.org
Fish and Wildlife Policy Advisor Dave Herrera 360-877-2210x.2070 dherrera@skokomish.org
Shellfish Biologist/PTL coordinator Blair Paul 360-877-5213 bpaul@skokomish.org
Shellfish Technician Kevin Cagey Jr 360-877-5213 kcagey@skokomish.org