Public Safety

Mailing Address: Skokomish Public Safety 80 North Tribal Center Road Located: 861 North Reservation Road, Skokomish Nation, WA 98584

OfficeHours: Monday to Friday, 8 am. to 5 pm. Emergency Hours: 24 hours a day, seven days a week

Phone: (360) 426-4740 Fax: (360) 877-6672


 

 Public Safety_new

Summary of Services

The Skokomish Department of Public Safety places strong emphasis on Community Oriented Policing for Skokomish Tribal members, residents and visitors of the Skokomish Indian Reservation. The department consists Patrol which help the department obtain its goals of proactively suppressing criminal activity, preventing crime, and protecting the Skokomish Tribe’s interests, lands, and properties. The Department of Public Safety (DPS) currently consists of 5 full time officers.  We also employ a full time civilian that acts as Court Clerk and Administrative Assistant. All Skokomish Public Safety Officers are cross trained to perform patrol duties and Fish & Wildlife Enforcement.

Mission Statement

The Skokomish Department of Public Safety has been granted the responsibility and authority to enforce laws and regulations as set forth by the Skokomish Tribal Council. The primary purpose of the department is to provide for the safety and protection of human life and property. When properly carried out, the enforcement of tribal laws and regulations will enhance and strengthen the development of the Tribe’s human resources, encourage the development of the reservation, and support community values and goals for the achievement of self determination as a Nation. The department further aspires to serve the Skokomish Tribe in a reasonable and prudent manner. The officers of this department are expected to carry out these responsibilities diligently and courteously and take pride in the services in which they provide.

Patrol Division

The Skokomish Tribal Patrol Division operates 7 days a week, 24 hours a day. It supports the mission of the department by preserving the peace, conducting investigations of crimes, providing patrols on tribal lands and properties, answering calls for assistance, detecting criminal activities, identifying potential disturbances, enforcing traffic regulations on reservation lands, investigating and responding to accidents, arresting criminal offenders, and providing emergency services for the Skokomish Tribal community.

Recent Accomplishments

  • The department has standardized all vehicles, uniforms, patches, logos, and badges, as well as updated equipment in the patrol vehicles. These upgrades bring greater uniformity to the department and allow its officers to meet the Tribe’s goals of being a professional Tribal Public Safety Department that is responsive to the needs of the Tribal community.
  • Thanks to a generous grant recently awarded the Skokomish Tribe from the Federal Government, the Skokomish Department of Public Safety has purchased and placed into service two new Dodge Durango patrol  vehicles with the latest in law enforcement technological equipment.
  • The Skokomish Department of Public Safety is currently an active participant in several regional or local law enforcement task forces. The Skokomish DPS continues to participate in local, regional, and national traffic safety campaigns such as the “Night of a Thousand Stars” (which targets drunk driving) and numerous “Click It or Ticket” (seat belt violations) and “3-Flags” DUI Emphasis Patrols (sponsored by MADD – Mothers Against Drunk Driving and the Washington Traffic Safety Commission).
  • The Skokomish Department of Public Safety was recently awarded a “Death to Meth” grant from the Federal Government.  This grant graciously gives the Skokomish Department of Public Safety funding to improve relations with Tribal Youth through hiring youth to staff Drug Prevention booths at Community Events.  It also gives funding for Drug Preventions items to hand out to Tribal Youth.
  • The department has also initiated a very successful Reserve Police Officer program. Reserve Police Officers are trained citizen volunteers who support regular, full-time officers in the performance of their duties. These “reserves” unselfishly donate their time and skills to serving the community without receiving financial compensation. These officers must be 21 years of age and pass a rigorous background investigation. They must also successfully complete a comprehensive 220 hour reserve police academy approved by the Washington State Criminal Justice Training Commission. Additionally, candidates must be high school graduates or possess a GED, pass a written test and oral interview panel, as well as possess a valid Washington State Driver’s License and an acceptable driving record. Any persons interested in this program should inquire at the Skokomish Department of Public Safety.

Staff

Position Staff Member Telephone E-Mail
Chief of Police Joe Vukich 360-426-4740 jvukich@skokomish.org
Corporal Julia Smetzler 360-426-4740 jsmetzler@skokomish.org
Police Officer Trenton Latch 360-426-4740 tlatch@skokomish.org
Police Officer Chris Pickens 360-426-4740 cpickens@skokomish.org
Police Officer Tisheina Miller 360-426-4740 tisheina@skokomish.org
Police Officer Mike DeRoche 360-426-4740 mderoche@skokomish.org
Police Officer Jordan Morine 360-426-4740 jmorine@skokomish.org
Police Officer Bernie Bernante 360-426-4740 bbernante@skokomish.org
Police Officer Eddie Roderick 360-426-4740 eroderick@skokomish.org
Police Officer Savouth Uch 360-426-4740 such@skokomish.org
Probation Officer Rossanne Snelson 360-426-4740 rsnelson@skokomish.org
Admin Assistant Alisa Woodruff 360-426-4740 awoodruff@skokomish.org